10 Things You Need to Know About the NZETA

© Pexels

What is NZETA?

The NZETA stands for “New Zealand Electronic Travel Authority” and is a quick online assessment from Immigration New Zealand for residents of countries who are visiting New Zealand and who otherwise don’t require to purchase a Visitor Visa. There is a small fee to pay for the NZETA. In addition, these visitors to New Zealand must also pay an IVL, which stands for “International Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy”, which is an additional fee.

While we outline the details of the NZETA and the IVL in What You Need to Know About the New Zealand ETA & Visitor Levy, we answer common questions about the NZETA in this list of things you need to know about the NZETA.

Find out more about visiting New Zealand in Everything You Need to Know About Arriving in a New Zealand Airport.

Before We Begin: NZeTA Rundown and Scam Warning

We are aware that a lot of travellers to New Zealand have questions about the NZeTA as scams are quite common with the NZeTA. If you have been sold an NZeTA and are having any doubts please watch the video below. The video also includes a rundown of everything you need to know about the NZeTA if you are into this kind of thing. If not, please keep reading there is a lot of useful info for you.

1. Not All Countries Need an NZETA

Only citizens from New Zealand’s “Visitor Visa Waiver Countries” need to purchase an NZETA before arriving in New Zealand to visit. This is with the exception of Australian residents. The visa waiver countries, therefore the countries that need an NZETA, include: from Europe: Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Iceland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom and Vatican City; from North America: Canada, and the United States of America; from South Americas: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Mexico and Uruguay, from the Middle East: Bahrain, Israel, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates, from Asia: Brunei, Korea (South), Hong Kong, Japan, Macau, Malaysia, Singapore and Taiwan; and from Africa: South Africa, Seychelles and Mauritius. For an up-to-date list, refer to the official visa waiver countries page on the Immigration New Zealand website.

Not sure what a visa waiver country is or if you need a Visitor Visa? Check out Visitor Visa: Do You Need a Visa to Visit New Zealand?

Pixabay© Pixabay

2. You Do Not Need an NZETA if You Are Coming to New Zealand on an Alternative Visa

What we mean by this is that you only need to purchase the NZETA if you are travelling to New Zealand as a visitor from the “visa waiver country” (see above). If you are coming to New Zealand on another visa, like a paid visitor visa, a working holiday visa, a student visa or a work visa, for instance, you will not need to purchase an NZETA, with the idea in mind that you have already paid fees to purchase your visa.

Pexels© Pexels

3. Some Countries are Required to Have an NZETA Even if Just Transiting in New Zealand

That’s right, citizens from “transit visa waiver countries” must also purchase the NZETA, even if they are just transiting through New Zealand. These countries include: the Bahamas, Bermuda, Bolivia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Federated States of Micronesia, Indonesia, Kiribati, Nauru, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Republic of Marshall Islands, Samia, Solomon Islands, Thailand, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanua and Venezuela. For an up-to-date list of the transit visa waiver countries, see this page on the Immigration New Zealand website.

Pixabay© Pixabay

4. You Need to Get an NZETA Before You Depart for New Zealand

In some cases, you may not be able to board a flight or a cruise to New Zealand without an NZETA, so it’s essential to obtain an NZETA before you depart for New Zealand. While it might be possible to request an NZETA at your departure airport, it can take up to 72 hours for NZETAs to be approved. Needless to say, it’s best to purchase one as soon as you can, knowing that NZETAs are valid for up to two years.

Pexels© Pexels

5. You Don’t Need an NZETA Each Time You Visit

An NZETA is valid for multiple visits from the date of approval for up to two years. This means you don’t need to purchase another NZETA if you are returning to New Zealand within two years of getting an NZETA. After two years, you will need to purchase a new one.

Pixabay© Pixabay

6. The NZETA Applies to Both Flight and Cruise Ship Passengers

If you’re from a visa waiver country or a transit waiver country (see above), then it doesn’t matter which transport you use to travel to New Zealand, whether it’s by flight or cruise ship, you will still need an NZETA.

Pixabay© Pixabay

7. There are Two Ways to Get an NZETA

Both require an Internet connection! The two ways of buying an NZETA are through the Immigration New Zealand App and through an online form through the Immigration New Zealand website. Get the Google Play App here and the App Store App here.

Pixabay© Pixabay

8. It’s Cheaper to Apply Through the App than the Website

Purchasing the NZETA costs around NZ$9 through the Immigration New Zealand app, while completing the online form through the Immigration New Zealand website costs around NZ$12.

Pixabay© Pixabay

9. It’s Faster to Apply Through the App than the Website

After downloading the Immigration New Zealand app, you just need to scan your passport with the app for Immigration New Zealand to get the details needed to issue you an NZETA. Then you can even scan your credit or debit card to pay. However, on the Immigration New Zealand website form, you will need to enter your passport and credit card details manually.

Pexels© Pexels

10. You Will Also Need to Pay the IVL

The IVL is the International Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy, which costs around NZ$35, no matter if you are using the Immigration New Zealand website or the app. The IVL is paid when you purchase your NZETA.

Pixabay© Pixabay


Robin C.

This article was reviewed and published by Robin, the co-founder of NZ Pocket Guide. He has lived, worked and travelled across 16 different countries before calling New Zealand home. He has now spent over a decade in the New Zealand tourism industry, clocking in more than 600 activities across the country. He is passionate about sharing those experiences and advice on NZ Pocket Guide and its YouTube channel. Robin is also the co-founder of several other South Pacific travel guides.

Was this article useful?

Share on facebook
Share on pinterest
Share on twitter